Psychiatry Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Page last updated: 12 February 2019

MBS item range
Meeting dates

MBS item range

Total – 53 MBS Items
Category 1 – Professional Attendances

  • Group A8 – Consultant Psychiatrist Attendances To Which No Other Item Applies
    288 – 370 (46 items)
  • Group A15 – GP Management Plans, Team Care Arrangements, Multidisciplinary Care Plans
    855 - 866 (6 items)
  • Category 3 - Therapeutic Procedures
  • T1 – Miscellaneous Therapeutic Procedures
    14224 (1 item)


  • Professor Malcolm Hopwood – Professor of Psychiatry, Ramsay Health Care; Member of the Board of the Sumner Foundation; Member of the Board of Phoenix Australia
  • Professor Philip Boyce – Professor of Psychiatry at Westmead Hospital; Head of Perinatal Psychiatry Clinical Research Unit at Westmead Hospital
  • Dr Michelle Atchison – Psychiatrist, private practice; Chair, Section of Private Psychiatry, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)
  • Dr Peter Jenkins – Psychiatrist; Board Director of RANZCP; Chair of the MBS Review Working Group of RANZCP.
  • A/Professor Beth Kotze – Executive Director Mental Health, Western Sydney Local Health District
  • Dr Ingrid Butterfield – Psychiatrist, private practice
  • Dr James Oldham – Senior Staff Specialist Psychiatrist, Child and Mental Health Services, Adolescent Inpatient Service & Adolescent Day Unit, Shellharbour Hospital
  • Ms Sian Pritchard – Nurse Practitioner Mental Health; Director at Pritchard Health
  • Ms Ros Knight – Clinical and Counselling Psychologist; President-Elect of the Australian Psychological Society; Clinic Director at Macquarie University's Psychology Clinic
  • Professor Jane Gunn – General Practitioner; Deputy Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Science, University of Melbourne; Board Director of the Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network; Director, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Dr Caroline Johnson – General Practitioner
  • Ms Janne McMahon OAM - Consumer representative; Chair and Executive Officer of the Private Mental Health Consumer Carer Network (Australia)
  • A/Prof Richard Brightwell – Consumer representative; Former Vice President and Board Member of Paramedics Australia; Former Chair of the Australasian College of Paramedicine

Meeting dates

  • 7 June 2018
  • 16 July 2018
  • 22 August 2018