Renal Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Information about the Renal Clinical Committee - MBS item range, membership and meeting dates.

Page last updated: 05 February 2018

MBS item range
Meeting dates


Report from the Renal Medicine Clinical Committee

MBS item range

Total – 7 MBS Items
MBS Category 3 – Therapeutic Procedures
  • Group T1 – Miscellaneous Therapeutic Procedures
    • Subgroup 2 – Dialysis
      13100-13112 (7 items)


  • Professor Alan Cass (Chair) - Director, Menzies School of Health Research
  • Ms Alison Marcus - Registered Nurse; Consumer Representative
  • Dr Paul Snelling - Renal Physician & Director of Dialysis, The Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
  • Professor Peter Kerr - Director of Nephrology, Monash Medical Centre
  • Associate Professor Martin Gallagher - Head, Renal Department, Concord Repatriation & General Hospital; Professor of Medicine, Concord Hospital Clinical School (Sydney Medical School); Senior Director, Renal and Metabolic Division, The George Institute
  • Professor Matthew Jose - Renal Physician, The Royal Hobart Hospital; Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine, The University of Tasmania; Adjunct Professor, The Menzies Institute for Medical Research
  • Professor Stephen McDonald - Director of Dialysis & Senior Staff Nephrologist, The Central Northern Renal and Transplantation Service, The Royal Adelaide Hospital; Clinical Director, Renal Services, Country Health Region, SA Health; Executive Officer, Australia and New Zealand Dialysis and Transplant Registry; Clinical Professor, The University of Adelaide
  • Dr Troy Kay - Nephrology Consultant, John Flynn Private Hospital; Private practice
  • Dr Amanda Walker - Director, Department of Nephrology, The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne
  • Professor Tim Usherwood - Professor, General Practice, Westmead Clinical School, The University of Sydney
  • Professor Kirsten Howard - Professor of Health Economics, School of Public Health, University of Sydney
  • Dr Neil Boudville - Consultant Nephrologist, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital; Private practice
  • Associate Professor Robyn Langham - Director of Nephrology, St Vincents Hospital Melbourne; Associate Professor of Medicine, The University of Melbourne; Secretary-General, International Society of Nephrology
  • Dr Amanda Robertson - Director of Nephrology Surgery, Royal Melbourne Hospital
  • Ms Lesley Salem - Independent Nurse Practitioner
  • Professor Paul Glasziou - MBS Review Taskforce (Ex-Officio)

Meeting dates

  • 7 April 2016
  • 26 April 2016
  • 2 June 2016
  • 30 June 2016
  • 20 July 2016
  • 1 August 2016
  • 3 August 2016
  • 8 August 2016
  • 12 August 2016
  • 18 October 2017