Pain Management Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Information about the Pain Management Clinical Committee – MBS item range, membership and meeting dates.

Page last updated: 14 February 2019

MBS item range
Meeting dates

MBS item range

Total - 62 MBS items
Category 3 – Therapeutic Procedures

  • Group 1 – Miscellaneous Therapeutic Procedures
    14209, 14218, 14221 (3 items)
  • Group T7 – Regional or Field Nerve Blocks
    18213 – 18298 (38 items)
  • Group T8 – Surgical Operations (21 items)
    39013, 39100 – 39140, 39323


  • Dr Chris Hayes – Director of Hunter Integrated Pain Service; immediate past Dean, Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
  • Dr Lindy Roberts - Specialist anaesthetist and specialist pain medicine physician; former President, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
  • A/Prof Carolyn Arnold - Physician in pain medicine and also in rehabilitation medicine; past President, Australian Pain Society.
  • Dr Marc Russo - Specialist pain medicine physician; founding member and current Secretary of the Australian Chapter of the International Neuromodulation Society.
  • Dr Tim Semple - Anaesthetist and specialist pain medicine physician; past President Australian Pain Society; board member Painaustralia; current President, Australian Pain Relief Association.
  • Dr Andrew Zacest – Consultant neurosurgeon; Clinical Associate Professor, University of Adelaide; board member, Faculty of Pain Medicine.
  • Adj/Prof Richard Chye - Pain and palliative medicine physician; Director, Sacred Heart Supportive and Palliative Care.
  • Dr Graham Rice - Consultant pain specialist, psychiatrist and anaesthetist; foundation board member, Faculty of Pain Medicine.
  • Prof Michael Nicholas – Professor and clinical psychologist, Pain Management Research Institute, University of Sydney at Royal North Shore Hospital.
  • Dr Ian Thong – Pain medicine specialist and former GP; Medical director of Persistent Pain Services, Gold Coast University hospital.
  • Dr Gus Ferguson - Interventional and general radiologist.
  • Mr John Stubbs - Member, Medical Services Advisory Committee (ESC); consumer representative.
  • Ms Lesley Brydon –Founding CEO of Painaustralia; consumer representative.
  • Dr Marilla Druitt - Gynaecologist Obstetrician, Persistent Pelvic Pain Clinic University Hospital Geelong.
  • A/Prof Tillman Boesel - pain management specialist with expertise in neuropathic pain, and interventional pain therapies.
  • Dr Lee Gruner – Immediate past President of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators, Taskforce ex officio.
  • Prof Michael Besser - Neurosurgeon, Taskforce surgical ex officio.

Meeting dates

  • 6 June 2018
  • 28 June 2018
  • 13 August 2018
  • 2 October 2018
  • 12 November 2018