Ear, Nose, and Throat Surgery Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Information about the Ear, Nose, and Throat Clinical Committee – MBS item range, membership and meeting dates.

Page last updated: 14 February 2018

The Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery Clinical Committee have now completed the review of the first tranche of work relating to ear, nose and throat surgery.
To view the government response to the recommendations visit the Department of Health website
MBS item range
Meeting dates

MBS item range

MBS Category 2 – Diagnostic Procedures and Investigations
  • Group D1 – Miscellaneous diagnostic procedures and investigations
    • Subgroup 3 - Otolaryngology
      11300–11339 (16 items)
MBS Category 3 – Therapeutic Procedures
  • Group T7
  • Group T8 – Surgical operations
    • Subgroup 1 - General
      30244 – 31412 (27 items)
    • Subgroup 8 – Ear, nose and throat
      41500 – 41910 (144 items)
MBS Category 8 – Miscellaneous Services
  • Group M15 - Audiology
    82300–82332 (9 items)


  • Mr Patrick Guiney (Chair) - Ear Nose Throat Surgeon, NorthWest Specialist Centre; Chair, Fees Sub-Committee, Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
  • Dr Margaret-Anne Harris - Senior Medical Officer, Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service, Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital
  • Dr John Curotta - Director, Department of Ear Nose and Throat Surgery, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, NSW
  • Dr David Wabnitz - Ear Nose Throat Surgeon, Private practice
  • Dr Carmel Nelson - Director, Clinical Services, Institute for Urban Indigenous Health
  • Dr Chris Dalton - National Medical Director, Bupa Australia and New Zealand; Ear, Nose and Throat surgeon, private practice

Meeting dates

  • 24 September 2015
  • 26 October 2015
  • 8 December 2015
  • 31 October 2016


The Committee has published the following reports with recommendations for public consultation.

Report from Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery Clinical Committee.