Colorectal Surgery Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Information about the Colorectal Surgery Clinical Committee – MBS item range, membership and meeting dates.

Page last updated: 25 March 2019

MBS item range
Meeting dates

MBS item range

Total – 85 MBS Items
Category 3 – Therapeutic Procedures

  • Subgroup 2 – Colorectal
    32000 – 32221 (84 items)
Category 2 – Diagnostic Procedures and Investigations
  • Subgroup 7 – Gastroenterology & Colorectal
    11833 (1 Item)


  • Associate Professor Andrew Stevenson (Chair) – Head of Colorectal Surgery, Royal Brisbane Hospital; Colorectal Surgeon at Holy Spirit Northside Hospital; Associate Professor of Colorectal Surgery at University of Queensland
  • Associate Professor Chris Byrne – Colorectal Surgeon at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, The Mater Hospital, North Sydney and Sydney Day Surgery, Clinical Associate Professor at The University of Sydney School of Medicine, Honorary Treasurer, Colorectal Surgical Society Australia and New Zealand Executive Council
  • Dr Elizabeth Murphy – Colorectal Surgeon, Head of Colorectal Unit, Lyell McEwin Hospital; Calvary North Adelaide Hospital, Calvary Central Districts Hospital and Ashford Hospital Councillor, Colorectal Surgical Society Australia and New Zealand Executive Council
  • Associate Professor Margaret Schnitzler – Colorectal Surgeon, Royal North Shore Hospital, North Shore Private Hospital, Mater Misericordiae Hospital; Associate Professor, University of Sydney, Sub-Dean for Surgery and Academic Coordinator for Surgery, Northern Clinical School, University of Sydney
  • Professor Alexander Heriot – Colorectal Surgeon at Epworth Freemasons Clarendon Street Hospital and Epworth Richmond Hospital, Clinical Director: Cancer Surgery Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Clinical Professorial Fellow at The University of Melbourne, Chair of the Operations Committee of the Binational Colorectal Cancer Audit
  • Dr Michael Warner – Colorectal Surgeon, Hollywood Private Hospital and Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital. Member of Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand
  • Dr Vida Viliunas – Anaesthetist, Lecturer for Australian National University
  • Professor Paul Pavli – Gastroenterologist, Staff Specialist – Gastroenterology Unit Canberra Hospital
  • Ms Sarah O’Shannassy – Colorectal Nurse and Advanced GI Surgical Program Manager at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
  • Dr Nuwan Dharmaratne – General Practitioner
  • Professor Michael Besser – MBS Review Taskforce ex-officio
  • Ms Rebecca James – MBS Review Taskforce Consumer ex-officio
  • Ms Geraldine Robertson – Representative, Consumers Health Forum & breast Cancer Network Australia
  • Ms Alison Marcus – Registered Nurse, Consumer Representative

Meeting dates

  • 30 May 2018
  • 2 July 2018
  • 1 August 2018
  • 29 August 2018